top of page
Search

agents and contracts

As soon as agents reopened to queries in January, I was all up in their inboxes. I was so excited to sign my contract with Flux, but I really wanted to have an agent before doing so--someone to guide me through negotiations, someone to support me in my future career. I sent out queries to the rest of the agents on my list and even resent queries to a handful that I had queried early on. I got a handful of full requests right away, as long as a few passes due to my quick turnaround time.

After about a week, I got another exciting email. One of the agents with the full loved OLIVE and said she could see why Flux wanted it. She asked for a phone call to discuss representation two days later.

Everything was so surreal. I had been working toward this goal for almost four years and now things seemed to be happening so fast. It didn't seem real! But I prepared for my call, asking my writing friends for advice on what to ask. I was so nervous that we wouldn't be a fit, but I kept reminding myself that if I didn't sign with an agent, I still had an offer and there were other resources available to negotiate the contract on my own. Luckily, I loved the agent and felt good about working with her. So I signed with Sharon Belcastro from Belcastro Agency!

Sharon took over negotiations with Flux right away and after a few emails back and forth, we had an official contract. I reviewed it with an entertainment attorney in my family and we asked for a few changes per his suggestions. Some Flux agreed to, others they didn't, but I felt good getting input from both my agent and an attorney. And about two months after the initial offer, I signed my contract with Flux!

Now I'm working with my editor (Ashtyn Stann, who is the best) on the first round of edits and I can't believe this is my life. I'm so excited for the world to meet Olive!

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodreads updates!

Author achievement unlocked: Here Lies Olive is officially up on Goodreads! Click here to view it and don't forget to add it! It's been fun seeing how many people have already added it and what lists

in which things *happen*

After six months of querying, HERE LIES OLIVE wasn't getting as much traction as I had hoped. I was discouraged. I really thought this would be the one--the one to finally land me an agent and help me

My writing journey

I've always wanted to be a writer--ever since my first grade teacher Mrs. Bradley told my mother that I had talent. I still have some of the letters that I wrote to Mrs. Bradley over the summer, thoug

bottom of page