top of page
Search

My writing journey

I've always wanted to be a writer--ever since my first grade teacher Mrs. Bradley told my mother that I had talent. I still have some of the letters that I wrote to Mrs. Bradley over the summer, though they're hard to decipher (my talent for spelling came later).

I started a handful of novels during high school and college, but never made it past the third page. That finally changed in 2016, when a friend told me about NaNoWriMo. I decided to give it a try and finished the month with 40,000 words of pure nonsense.

I didn't meet my word count goal and I could tell that what I had written wasn't very good, but I had finally broken through my three page mental block. The next year, I tried again and completed my first YA novel (though it took more than just one month). It was good! It read like a real book! All my friends said so! So I spent one afternoon researching queries and then started sending it out to agents, sure I would sell it by the end of the year.

,Surprise, surprise, writing and querying is not that easy. I actually had a handful of full requests, but none of them led to representation, and after six months I realized it was fundamentally flawed in a way I didn't know how to fix, so I shelved it and moved on to a new project.

My second novel was a MG inspired by some of my own family history. I applied for a Writementor in spring of 2019 and I was thrilled when A.J. Sass chose me as his mentee! We spent the summer reworking my book and preparing for the agent showcase in the fall. I got quite a few requests for that book, including an R&R, but after 14 months, I finally shelved it. Hoping to dust it off again someday, though!

While I was querying my second book, I started writing another YA. This one was very different from my first two projects, and it was slow going. I would write 40,000 words and then delete 30,000. I finally finished a draft and sent it out to my critique partners, and then started the never-ending process of revisions.

Finally, it was ready to query! I felt more prepared than I had ever been. I had a list of about 30 agents with specific MSWLs that were a perfect fit. I had mastered the art of the query and synopsis (with the help of my CPs!). I sent it out, anticipating immediate requests.

And then the rejections started rolling in.

But I didn't give up and my story doesn't end there.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodreads updates!

Author achievement unlocked: Here Lies Olive is officially up on Goodreads! Click here to view it and don't forget to add it! It's been fun seeing how many people have already added it and what lists

agents and contracts

As soon as agents reopened to queries in January, I was all up in their inboxes. I was so excited to sign my contract with Flux, but I really wanted to have an agent before doing so--someone to guide

in which things *happen*

After six months of querying, HERE LIES OLIVE wasn't getting as much traction as I had hoped. I was discouraged. I really thought this would be the one--the one to finally land me an agent and help me

bottom of page